Thumbs up!

I am not going to beat around the bush; we have all heard and groaned at those over-used clichés.  Not only do we sigh at verbal clichés but also those old physical clichés.  You know the physical clichés that you see in the movies or television, like Fonzi’s thumbs up.  Recently I have acquired a great fondness for the thumbs up sign.

My youngest son uses the thumbs up sign to encourage his fellow rodeo friends.  He gives the thumbs up to his friends before they make their rides and again, no matter how they rode, at the end of the ride.  He hopes his friends do well, but whether or not they win, he wants them to know he believes in them.  Yes, this alone would be a great reason to smile when I see a thumbs up, but as a team roper’s mom, the thumbs up sign means so much more.

You see, both of my boys team rope and the number three activity or occupation that causes people to lose fingers is team roping.  Yep, you heard right, team ropers.  Those of you, who rope, knew that one was coming.  For those of you who have no idea what team roping is, let me explain: The header is the rider that chases down the steer, ropes it around the horns, dallies his rope around the saddle horn and pulls the steer.  The heeler is the rider that comes from behind, ropes the steer’s hind legs, dallies his rope around the saddle horn, stretching the steer; meanwhile the header spins and faces the heeler.  The fastest time wins. In theory, this is the perfect run.

My boys team roping

In reality, it doesn’t always happen that way.  The header could miss, the heeler could miss, horses could stumble, or worse yet thumbs could be caught in the rope.  Yes, this makes a mother’s heart stop as she watches her children rope.  Nope, team roping is not for the feeble hearted, especially for mothers of team ropers.

Thumb almost caught between rope and saddle horn

Last month, my 16-year-old, caught his thumb in his dally while roping at the Lazy E.  Praise God for a well-trained pony that kicks ups (moves forward) when cued; it saved his thumb.  Later, as he was sitting beside me examining his battered thumb he nonchalantly stated, “mom, if I lose my thumb while roping, I’m not having it put back on…it only gets in the way.”

I sputtered a quick response, “You most certainly will have it put back on!”  The rest of my response drowns under the sound of laughter and guffaws from several cowboys sitting behind us.  I can only sigh and mutter the Willie Nelson song title and cliché, “Mothers, Don’t Let Your Sons Grow up To Be Cowboys.”  Even though I don’t listen to country music; that song often sticks in my head and I find myself unwillingly singing to it.

Last weekend, as I watched my boys team rope, my heart stopped again.  I heard the rope zip and saw my 11-year-old son double over on his horse.  Fellow ropers galloped to the rescue.  One young cowboy yells “kick him up!”  As I see my son cueing his horse forward, again I praise God for a well-trained horse and helpful cowboys.

Ropers encircled my son, their knives out ready to cut his rope.  My son pulls free of the rope and proceeds to push his steer to the stripping cute.  As he rides by me with tears in his eyes, he gives me the thumbs up.  His thumb was intact!  This momma gives her best “thumbs up” back at him.  That old action cliché has a precious meaning to this team roper’s momma.  Who said that clichés aren’t a good thing?  Thumbs up and ride on!

Leave a comment